Key features of the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme

QLTS route to qualification

Open all

This means we have determined that your qualification as a lawyer:

  • gives you rights of audience;
  • makes you an officer of the court in the jurisdiction in which you have qualified; and
  • has been awarded as part of a generalist (non-specialist) legal education and training
  • to qualify as a lawyer specific education and training at least equivalent to that of an English and Welsh Bachelor's degree has been completed;
  • members of the qualified lawyers' profession are bound by an ethical code which requires them to act without conflict of interest and to respect their clients interests and confidentiality; and
  • qualified lawyers are subject to disciplinary sanctions for breach of the profession’s ethical code, including removal of the right to practise.

We have a duty to consider the character and suitability of anyone who wishes to enter the profession, and we must make sure that any individual admitted as a solicitor has, and maintains, the level of honesty, integrity and professionalism expected by the public and other stakeholders and professionals. We assess character and suitability issues against the criteria set out in our Assessment of Character and Suitability Rules.

The assessment will test the Day One Outcomes These set out the legal knowledge and skills which all solicitors must have at the point of qualification. There are two stages to the assessment:

Stage 1: Multiple Choice Test (MCT)

  • The MCT is a 5 hour 30 minute test with 180 questions
  • These are in two sessions of 2 hours 45 minutes each
  • They assess Part A of the Day One Outcomes
  • You must pass the MCT stage before you can progress onto the OSCE stage.

Stage 2: Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)

  • Assesses parts C, D and F of the Day One Outcomes
  • Includes the following skills: interviewing, advocacy/oral presentations, legal research, legal drafting and legal writing in business, civil and criminal litigation, property and probate.

Test Locations

For details of the test locations refer to the Kaplan website.


There are no restrictions on the number of times you can attempt the assessments.

Recognised jurisdictions

Please check the list of jurisdictions and qualifications which we recognise. If your jurisdiction or qualification is not recognised, you should contact your home bar or law society and ask them to contact us to request a survey for recognition.

Training for the assessment

Kaplan are our sole authorised QLTS assessment authority. They do not provide training, however some providers do. As the provision of training is unregulated it is important that you check with the training provider that it meets your requirement.

English Language requirement

You do not have to provide separate evidence of your English language skills before registering for an assessment. However, you should make sure your standard of written, spoken, reading and listening English is appropriate for the assessment otherwise you are unlikely to pass.


If you are:

  • An international lawyer a lawyer qualified in Northern Ireland or Scotland
  • a barrister who has qualified in England and Wales who has completed a pupillage
  • someone who has successful completed the LPC in England and Wales
  • a qualified lawyer in a recognised jurisdiction.

you may be entitled to exemption from some or all of the assessments. This will depend upon the extent to which you have already met the Day One Outcomes. We will assess this based on the information which you include in your application to us.