The SRA Handbook is no longer in effect. It was replaced by the SRA Standards and Regulations on 25 November 2019.

SRA Handbook

Accreditation for new practitioners

Back to version 21

Version 13 of the Handbook was published on 01/04/2015. For more information, please click 'History' Above

Part 4: Accreditation for new practitioners

Regulation 12: Application of Part 4


Part 4 of these regulations applies to you if you were admitted as a solicitor or became an REL after 1 September 2015.

Regulation 13: Accreditation at level 1


When you are either issued with your first practising certificate or become an REL, you will be granted full accreditation at level 1.

Regulation 14: Accreditation at level 2


If you obtain the higher courts advocacy qualification for criminal advocacy by assessment, you will be granted full accreditation at level 2.


If you intend to undertake trials at level 2, you must comply with regulation 10 above.

Regulation 15: Progression to level 3 or 4


If you are fully accredited in accordance with regulation 10 at level 2 or are fully accredited at level 3, and in either case you intend to progress to the level above, you must comply with regulation 11 above.