The SRA Handbook is no longer in effect. It was replaced by the SRA Standards and Regulations on 25 November 2019.

SRA Handbook

Quality Assurance Scheme For Advocates (Crime) ("QASA")

Back to version 21

Version 16 of the Handbook was published on 01/04/2016. For more information, please click 'History' Above

Part 2: Quality Assurance Scheme For Advocates (Crime) ("QASA")

Regulation 2: Scope of scheme


You may not undertake criminal advocacy unless accredited to do so in accordance with these regulations and the QASA.


You may be accredited under these regulations at a level ranging from 1 to 4 corresponding to the increasing seriousness and complexity of criminal cases falling within those levels as set out in the QASA.


You may only accept instructions to conduct criminal advocacy where you are satisfied they fall within or below the level at which you are accredited, unless you are satisfied that you are competent to accept instructions for a case at a higher level in light of the particular circumstances and in accordance with the guidance in the QASA.

Regulation 3: Accreditation requirement


You may only be accredited under these regulations if you are a solicitor holding a current practising certificate or an REL.


You may only be accredited under these regulations at levels 2, 3 or 4 if you have obtained the higher courts advocacy qualification for criminal advocacy.

Regulation 4: General provisions relating to applications made under these regulations


You may register, make an application or give a notification under these regulations by:


completing the prescribed form;


submitting such information as may be prescribed; and


paying the prescribed fee, if any.


On receipt of an application under these regulations the SRA shall decide whether to grant or refuse the application, and shall notify you accordingly giving reasons for any decision to refuse the application.


Before reaching a decision on an application, the SRA may:


require you to undertake such other steps as the SRA may specify in order for you to be accredited at one of the levels under the QASA.


require from you or a third party, such additional information, documents or references as it considers appropriate.