The SRA Handbook is no longer in effect. It was replaced by the SRA Standards and Regulations on 25 November 2019.

SRA Handbook


Back to version 21

Version 8 of the Handbook was published on 01/10/2013. For more information, please click 'History' Above

Part 4: LPC

Regulation 16: Completion of the LPC


You must have satisfactorily completed the LPC to be admitted as a solicitor.

Guidance note:


The following modes of studying the LPC are approved by us:


full-time mode (over one academic year); or


part-time mode (over two academic years); or


distance learning; or


any other mode of delivery as approved by us.


The LPC, as of 2010, consists of:


Stage 1 - Core subjects; and


Stage 2 - Elective subjects.


Prior to this, the core and elective elements of the LPC were integrated. Some courses operated under our new requirements from the academic year starting in 2009, while others running at the same time operated under our old requirements.


Regardless of the requirements in force at the time, when these regulations say LPC, we mean the course as a whole including both elective and core subjects.

Regulation 17: Course requirements


You must meet the LPC Outcomes, or where applicable any other LPC written standards in force at that time, in order to satisfactorily complete the course.


Subject to any entitlement to permitted exemptions, the LPC Outcomes are met by completing all the Stage 1 and Stage 2 assessments.


You must complete all Stage 1 assessments with one authorised provider. Stage 2 assessments can be taken with one or more different providers.


To complete the full LPC you must successfully complete all assessments in any time limit we may specify. If you do not pass all Stage 2 assessments within such time limit, then you must begin both Stages 1 and 2 again.


You are allowed three attempts at any Stage 1 assessment. If you are unsuccessful on the third attempt at a Stage 1 assessment, you will fail Stage 1 overall and all assessments must be retaken.


You are allowed three attempts at any Stage 2 assessment. If you fail a Stage 2 assessment for the third time, you will only be deemed to have failed that particular elective, not Stage 2 or the LPC overall. You can either re-enrol on the course for that particular elective or start a fresh elective.

Guidance note:


Regulation 17 is relevant to LPCs approved under the SRA's Information for providers of Legal Practice Courses only. The requirements in place for pre-2009 LPCs apply if you studied such a course. These are available from your course provider.


The LPC Outcomes are non-negotiable. If you have a disability within the meaning of the Equality Act 2010, you can apply to the provider for reasonable adjustments to be made to their assessment methods, but you must demonstrate the standards in order to satisfactorily complete the course.