Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme

Last updated 10 August 2017

The Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS) allows those who are already qualified lawyers in other jurisdictions to qualify as a solicitor of England and Wales. This means applicants do not have to complete the full education and training requirements currently specified in the SRA Training Regulations 2014.

The scheme also applies to barristers qualified in England and Wales who have completed pupillage and want to qualify as a solicitor. The route to qualification is set out in the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme Regulations 2011.

Transitional provisions

In January 2014 the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) and Technical Legal Skills Test (TLST) were merged into a single assessment. The Multiple Choice Test (MCT) remains unchanged.

If you passed at least one of the QLTS assessments before January 2014, the following transitional provisions will apply to you:

Passed the MCT but did not sit the old OSCE or TLST

You must sit the new OSCE in full (Parts 1 and 2) and pay the fee for both parts.

Passed the old OSCE but did not pass the TLST

You must sit OSCE Part 2. You will pay the fee for Part 2 only.

Passed the TLST but not the old OSCE

You must sit OSCE Part 1. You will pay the fee for Part 1 only.

Please see the Kaplan website for further details.

Kaplan QLTS and training courses

Kaplan is the authorised assessment provider for the SRA. They are not authorised to provide training courses.

Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS) update

14 April 2015

Summary of changes

The Legal Services Board approved our proposed amendments to the QLTS Regulations.

A summary of the amendments is as follows:

  • Unless you have exemption from part of the exam, you do not need a Certificate of Eligibility from us to sit the assessments.
  • You do not have to demonstrate your English language skills to take the QLTS assessments.
  • You do not have to complete the QLTS assessments within a five-year period.
  • There is no limit to the number of assessment attempts.

Proposed changes to the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme

Key features

How to apply

Recognised jurisdictions

QLTS outcomes